Home > John McCain, Obama, Obama Supporters, Palin > No death threats in 6 days: What am I doing wrong?

No death threats in 6 days: What am I doing wrong?

Ever since this little blog’s inception, I’ve always received a steady supply of death threats from Obama Supporters.  From those first memorable three to grace my inbox after my first article, I have looked forward to reading new threats on my life every day.  However, since Sunday, I have received none.  In fact, ever since the Republican National Convention, I have received very few.  I have three separate theories for this:

A.  I am being ineffective in my criticisms of Obama and his supporters, (at least, less effective than I was when I received death threats more frequently),  and thus, angering fewer Obama Supporters into threatening me.

B.  Obama Supporters are too busy trying to destroy Palin to send me new threats.

C.  The Democrats got a bill through legalizing marijuana without me noticing, and the Obama Supporters are capitalizing on this new freedom.

Any other blog authors experience a similiar phenomenon?

  1. CKA in Red State USA
    September 20, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    I’m guessing it’s #2.

    But maybe they realized they couldn’t silence you?

    Whatever: Illegitimi non carborundum!

  2. fredshelm
    September 20, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    CKA, you’re an author, have your death threats decreased in number? I’m really curious to know if this is a trend.

  3. CKA in Red State USA
    September 20, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I haven’t received any becuase I don’t have my own blog, and have just started posting at one. Haven’t received any yet. So maye I’m not doing anything right?

    I don’t know about what’s happened at the blog, American Sentinel, where I post now. But I’ll ask. Send me a note at my e-address and I’ll let you know.

    That said, I’ll offer this SWAG: I’m guessing that threats such as you’ve been receiving are pretty common and getting more so. And will intensify in the last month preceding the election, but especially after the so-called “debates.”

    Also, I do seem to see, though I’m not a geek — and I say that honorifically; I just turn machines on and hope they’ll work — Cyber attacks on certain sites.

    For example, even on some provocative posts at RCP today, and even within the past 20 minutes or so, I’ve seen notes like “Not on server” or the typical “Page can’t be displayed.” I don’t think that’s due to heavy traffic at them.

    I can’t prove my hunch, but given the topic and given how sinister that the Obama-nation’s thugs seem to be, I would put nothing past them. Cyberspace criminality would be nothing to them. as we’ve seen with someone hacking into Palin’s e-mail system.

    And, regrettably, Obama’s followers’ reactions could include actual violence now. That infuriates and scares me.

    I pray that the whoevers who’ve been threatening you are simply full of “Anonymous” courage and not truly pathological enough to do anything.

    I also hope that you can trace where those notes came from and hammer them.

    These fascists must be shown that they cannot silence free speech and that the people will not be intimidated.

    It amazes, truly — and my first presidential election I remember was Eisenhower v. Stevenson — the depth of hatred that Obama’s tapped into and unleashed. From what I’ve read, that’s part of the MO David Axelroad brought: Stir up anger in the blacks. The other part? Exploit white guilt. I’d say he’s done that perfectly.

    Be safe.

  4. NYSmike
    September 20, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I think they are in a meeting preparing for the debates. They are getting telephone numbers and websites so that when asked “who won the debate??” they’ll be ready to automatically vote Obama.

    If there was early voting on this too, they’d be right there!

  5. September 21, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    B. Obama Supporters are too busy trying to destroy Palin to send me new threats.

    Maybe they’re all busy writing fan letters to Sandra Bernhard:

    http://www.postchronicle.com/news/original/article_212173389.shtml

    Also, I do seem to see…..Cyber attacks on certain sites.

    Too true. Here’s a blogger who suffered that fate:

    http://cannonfire.blogspot.com/2008/09/i-love-her.html

    As for me, I’ve been called names a few times, but never gotten a death threat. Maybe I don’t get enough traffic to merit them.

  6. John Shaft
    September 21, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    and btw, I’m not voting for Obama. You’re just not a very effective writer.

  7. fredshelm
    September 21, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    John, I understand your intent was to insult, but I’m afraid that sort of line of attack isn’t going to be effective. I’m already aware that I’m not an effective writer – so I’m working towards improvement. As for insults, I tossed your more insult/profanity laden posts into the spam bin. I find it ironic that you deride my intelligence in your posts, yet employ only ad hominem to push your point – ironic, because personal attacks are generally understood to be intellectual surrender.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

